Space Sessions: Songs From A Tin Can

  • Aug 11, 2015 4:19am GMT

The first album to be recorded at least partially from orbit, “Space Sessions: Songs from a Tin Can” will be released Oct. 9. Retired Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield isn't trying to launch a music career, rather he's on a mission to bring the experience of space travel to the earthbound public any way he can.

He says in the newly released album trailer (watch below), "They are songs of new ideas and songs of old ideas." The 11-song collection includes his famous David Bowie cover, “Space Oddity” recorded while orbiting the earth on the International Space Station in December of 2012. It was then that he decided he'd like to try and record music in space.

Video 1: Official Album Trailer for “Space Sessions: Songs From a Tin Can” by Chris Hadfield

Hadfield found the best place to record was in his sleep pod, using his iPad, floating in front of him. Aware of the limited room he also brought a compact Canadian-made Larrivee Parlor acoustic guitar. “It’s hard to play guitar on a spaceship, because there’s nothing to hold the guitar stable,” he pointed out to the Globe and Mail. “Almost always, the guitar slips in your hands. If you’re a guitar player, I tell people to try playing while standing on your head. The producer who was helping me, Paul Mills, said: ‘Your guitar playing is a little messy,’ I said, yeah, you come up here and play guitar.” He told the paper that his singing voice mutated too because sinuses don’t drain mechanically like they do on Earth, “There’s no gravity to pull the fluid out of your head, so you always have a full head and swollen tongue and vocal cords.”

Video 2: A revised version of David Bowie's Space Oddity, recorded by Commander Chris Hadfield on board the International Space Station. Published on May 12, 2013

The three-quarter-size travel guitar, created and manufactured in the Vancouver factory of Larrivée Guitars got a boost in sales post flight generating enough interest for the company to put the model back into production for a limited edition. The year following Chris' recording of "Space Odity", the company reported $100,000 in orders for the commemorative model which sold for about $1,200, according to Matthew Larrivée, general manager of the company’s California shop.

Video 3: Official Lyric Video for “Feet Up” by Chris Hadfield. From the album “Space Sessions: Songs From a Tin Can”

When you're spending 166 days in space a little music can go a long way especially when you travel round world every 90 minutes or so. The album is available to pre-order on CD or vinyl here. Digital copies can be pre-ordered on iTunes.

Space Sessions: Songs from a Tin Can:

  1. Big Smoke
  2. Beyond the Terra
  3. Feet Up
  4. I Wonder If She
  5. Caroline
  6. Jewel in the Night
  7. Daughter of My Sins
  8. Window of My Mind
  9. Space Lullaby
  10. Farm Auction
  11. Ride that Lightning
  12. Space Oddity (Bonus Track)