California Aviation Hall of Fame Honorees

  • Jun 12, 2014 3:15pm GMT

The California Aviation Hall of Fame (CAHOF) honored its first group of inductees during an Inaugural Ceremony and Dinner on June 7, 2014 at the Santa Monica Museum of Flying. This year, the Hall of Fame honored the accomplishments of Buzz Aldrin, Clay Lacy, Bob Hoover and Frank Robinson.

Dr. Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin is a former engineer, Korean War fighter pilot, retired United States Air Force colonel and astronaut, best known as the second person to walk on the moon. Dr. Aldrin was the pilot of the “Eagle,” the Apollo 11 lunar module, and he performed the first-ever manned lunar landing on July 20, 1969, then followed mission commander Neal Armstrong onto the lunar surface.

Clay Lacy established the first executive jet charter company in the western United States when he founded Clay Lacy Aviation in 1968. In addition to his renowned career as an innovative business aviation entrepreneur, his celebrated professional pursuits include military aviator, test pilot, air race champion, world speed record-holder, aerial cinematographer, and airline captain. Incredibly, Clay Lacy has flown more than 300 types of aircraft and logged over 50,000 flight hours.

R.A. “Bob” Hoover is an aviation legend, often called “the pilot’s pilot.” He flew 59 missions in the Spitfire Mark V fighter during the Second World War before being shot down and captured. After 16 months as a prisoner of war, he escaped his captors, stole a German plane and flew to freedom in the Netherlands. After the war, Hoover served as a military and civilian test pilot and became famous for his amazing flight maneuvers at air shows around the world.

Frank Robinson is an aeronautical engineer and founder of Robinson Helicopter Company of Torrance, California, the largest manufacturer of civilian helicopters in the world. Robinson worked for various aviation companies, including Cessna Aircraft and Hughes Helicopters, for 16 years before founding the company that bears his name in 1973. He retired as president and chairman in 2010, just before the company built and sold its 10,000th helicopter.

In addition, CAHOF also honored 19 legacy inductees who made contributions to the development of aviation in California. They are the late J. Leland Atwood, Jackie Cochran, Glenn Curtis, Jimmy Doolittle, Donald Wills Douglas, Amelia Earhart, Ed Heinemann, Howard Hughes, Kelly Johnson, Dutch Kindelberger, Roy Knabenshue, Alan and Malcolm Loughead, Paul MacCready, Jack Northrup, Arthur Raymond and Ben Rich, Claude Ryan, and Theodore von Karman.

Enjoy the pictures of the event!